PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Water

jrotull
07-24-2006, 11:28 PM
Here is my long story...... My pool water is like a yellow-colored solution -- it actually looks like lemon-lime gatorade! About a week ago my water temperature hit 90 degrees for several straight days, and in the past, I always had minor algae problems when the water was this warm, so I added some algaecide as preventive maintenance. I think this caused my problem!! For general sanitizing etc. I use Chlor-Free. I've been using it without any problems for the past 7 years, other than the occasional green algae as noted above. I have read elsewhere that Chlor-Free's makers made false statements about what it does, but I have had good luck with it for years.

Anyway, about 3 days after I used the algaecide, I noticed a greenish tint in the pool so I added a 2nd dose. The next day, the water was a medium green color. I thought I had an algae bloom, so I added some more algaecide, along with some clarifier, and hoped my vacuum would suck up whatever dropped to the bottom and restore my clear water. Well, the water stayed green and even looked brownish after running my Aquabug vacuum overnight, so the next day I took a water sample to the local pool store. After their check, they said I needed PH Minus because I had an 8.7 reading. So I added Dry Acid and brought the PH down. The water changed from medium green to a lighter yellow color. Also during this several day period, I backwashed and replaced my diatomaceous earth twice. The DE looked like a creamy brown color and some came out in soft chunks. And my filter pressure was increasing much faster than normal after each backwashing from these chunks clogging it up.