PDA

View Full Version : Another shock question

alapool
04-12-2006, 09:36 AM
I have been running the Pool Frog system for the last 2 years and I have decided after reading thru this forum that I am going to try using the bleach method. Sounds like a pretty easy solution.

So as I understand it you add liquid bleach every 2 or 3 days depending on your chlorine level. I personally don't want my levels to be above 3 ppm. The question that I have is when do I shock the pool? And does "shock the pool" mean that you just add a lot more liquid bleach?

Thanks for any help!

And THANKS FOR THIS WEBSITE!!!

JohnT
04-12-2006, 09:53 AM
You shock the pool when the combined chlorine gets above about 0.5ppm, and you do it by adding enough bleach to raise the chlorine to the desired level. That level depends on your pool construction and CYA level of your water.

alapool
04-12-2006, 09:57 AM
Let's assume I have a CYA level of 30.

So does that mean that when the combined Cl level is at .5 ppm, then the FC level is usually below 1 ppm? and I need to add enough CL to raise the FC level back to 3 ppm?

waterbear
04-12-2006, 10:05 AM
According to Ben's "Best Guess chart
http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=365
with a CYA level of 30 your min FC should be 3 ppm and your max 6ppm. This is the range you need to keep it at normally. If your CC is greater than .5 ppm you need to shock by raising you FC to 15 ppm.

You can have CC at any level of FC. It depends on whether there is enough 'reserve' of FC to 'burn off' the contaiminents in the water and break down the CC. If you have an outdoor pool without a SWG a CYA level of 30 ppm is a good choice.

Be aware that the pool frog is a silver/zinc system and had probably added metals to your water. You might want to read the section of the forum on metals
http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/forumdisplay.php?f=139

duraleigh
04-12-2006, 10:07 AM
Let's assume I have a CYA level of 30.