PDA

View Full Version : Help! Need info on Muriatic acid!

mmancinelli
07-17-2006, 10:12 PM
I'm a newby with pools and I have a small 15' by 42" round pool. My PH count was very high and the guy at the pool store gave me a gallon of muriatic acid. I asked him if I should use it all and he said to start with it, meaning use it all! I now find out that the instructions say to use 1 quart per 20k gallons! Is this going to be dangerous? What should I do? My kids will want to gon in it tomorrow. Should I keep them out? Please help!!

hulla
07-17-2006, 10:39 PM
Follow the instructions on the bottle (not the guy you spoke to). Have the pump running to circulate the water and test the pH after a few or more hours. If the pH is ok after that then you should ok to swim.

It is better to add less acid than you need because you can always add more if you need to.

les_smith
07-17-2006, 10:42 PM
I'm not a pro, but I've poured a whole gallon in our pool before and swam the next day. I turned the pump off for 20 minutes, poured the acid in at six different spots around the edge, left the pump off for an hour, then I turned it on and let it run all night. I've heard people refer to it as "slugging". I'd wait and see if any night owls reply to post. But, I've done it, 14600 gallon AG pool, and it didn't do anything bad that I can tell.

tonyl
07-17-2006, 10:42 PM
Good advice from Hulla.

I would test your water in the morning, if ph is <7.0 add borax to the skimmer to bring it up.

mmancinelli
07-17-2006, 10:49 PM
Thanks guys. All I have are test strips and the alkalinity was originally off the chart blue and now its showing up a a more normal green. I was pondering draining half the water tonight, but I think I will wait until morning like you guys suggest. I'm a little worried because the pool is only about 3500 gallons.

Thanks!

mmancinelli
07-17-2006, 11:01 PM