PDA

View Full Version : Help! VERY Newbie here!

moose
07-14-2006, 09:32 AM
I have a 22x38 inground pool (3' to 8') vinyl liner.

I've been working on this for a month and STILL have a green-ish, very cloudy pool. I've been cleaning the filter daily, and backwashing daily. This is my first summer doing maintenance due to divorice, so I'm way out of my league here!

I've shocked, put algaecide and clarifier in. I only have those test strips available. But they read Good chlorine levels, low pH, good alkanity and low CYA.

I've broomed and vacummed. (BTW, what is "vacuum to waste"?)

How do I figure out how many gallons my pool holds?
How do I figure out how much bleach?
Where do I download the bleach calculator?

HELP!!!!!!:eek:

debs_pool
07-14-2006, 11:25 AM
I have a 22x38 inground pool (3' to 8') vinyl liner.

I've been working on this for a month and STILL have a green-ish, very cloudy pool. I've been cleaning the filter daily, and backwashing daily. This is my first summer doing maintenance due to divorice, so I'm way out of my league here!

I've shocked, put algaecide and clarifier in. I only have those test strips available. But they read Good chlorine levels, low pH, good alkanity and low CYA.

I've broomed and vacummed. (BTW, what is "vacuum to waste"?)

How do I figure out how many gallons my pool holds?
How do I figure out how much bleach?
Where do I download the bleach calculator?

HELP!!!!!!:eek:

Sorry you feel like your out of your league -- but soon you'll be fine. The people on here are great. It's my first summer to be proactive about my own pool and not let the pool store tell me what to do!

I can't help with everything (learning myself) but here's a link to the bleach calculator for you -- with a thanks to brent.roberts for giving me this info in another thread: