PDA

View Full Version : Brown sediment and Green Water after Metal Treatment

mariella
07-14-2006, 07:49 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie posting here, and hoping that some of you wise folk can help me out. I've been reading the forums, and it sounds like you guys give some great advice!

When we "opened" our pool Memorial Day weekend, we had to put in about 1.5 feet of well water, which is loaded with iron and copper. We knew about this, and just figured we would throw some SuperErace in, and it would do the trick, as in previous years.

Well, not this year.

Over the past 6 weeks, we have put in about 5 bottles of SuperErace, per the instructions of our pool store, cleaned the filter about 20 times, and even hooked up a secondary filter to help clean our pool.

The water has gone from olive-green to brown to greenish-blue to clear to greenish-blue again.

Now, the water is relatively clear, but we have about 1 foot of cloudy water at the bottom, and this brownish dust all over everything. You can see it collecting on the pool steps, and ALL over the bottom of the pool. When we try to vacuum, the hose stirs everything up, makes the pool cloudy, and it takes about 4 - 5 days to settle down again.

I THINK that this brown sediment is giving the water the greenish tint. Our pool store has tested the water, about a zillion times, and they have said "no metals" in the pool water for about the last 3 weeks. That was the last time we put in the Super Erace.

I am pretty sure that algae is not giving the pool this greenish color. The water does not feel slimy, the pool walls do not feel slimy, and there is no ring around the edge.

Here are the vitals: :)

24' X 4 feet above ground pool
vinyl liner
Sta-Rite Cartridge filter

Test Results:
TC 3 ppm
FC .5 ppm
Ph 7.5
Alk 110 ppm
Cya 30 or maybe a little lower

These are from last night. This morning I did a quick check on the chlorine, and the TC had dropped to 1ppm.