adl6009
07-10-2006, 10:44 AM
ALK=140
PH=7.5
CYA=40
FC=3
and now for the part I don't understand
TC=2

It's been doing this for last few days. I opened the pool last week of June and the TC has been = to FC until now. It's my first time using bleach so I am not familiar with all the variables that may occur which is way I am asking.

CToon
07-10-2006, 11:00 AM
Might you be using strips to test ?

The sticky post in the Testing section of the forum says if that happens the strip is bad...

CarlD
07-10-2006, 11:31 AM
It can't. If you are using Ben's kit, there is the FAS-DPD test for FC and CC--TC = FC + CC always and forever.

Ben's kit also has an OTO test for TC. This may come out lower. DISREGARD IT! The FAS-DPD is the most reliable test.

One of my objections to test strips is they ALWAYS seem to show TC lower than FC. So one of the pads MUST be wrong--Experience tells me the TC is, so I NEVER look at it.

adl6009
07-10-2006, 11:44 AM
I use a taylor dpd kit. It is about 2 years old maybe i need new agents?? What does dpd oto fas mean? Is dpd the "best" kind to get? Thanks.

CarlD
07-10-2006, 12:29 PM
somebody spelled out what FAS-DPD stands for.

OTO is the simplest, is fairly reliable, but only measure TC and only goes to 5ppm (some kits stop at 3ppm). You can dilute it with distilled water to extend the range but you'll lose precision. Sometimes it's all you can do.

DPD usually uses a tablet. It CAN go up to 15, but there it bleaches out and looks like 0. It can measure FC and CC. I'm not a fan of DPD because it's as much a pain as FAS-DPD (actually, even more of one) but rarely do the kits go beyond 5ppm in what they can measure.

FAS-DPD is the most powerful, the most accurate and the most reliable. It takes a little longer than OTO, but can measure both FC and CC levels up to 50ppm! Is it the "BEST"? Well, by most standards, yes, it's the best.

waterbear
07-10-2006, 11:42 PM
Ok, I'll post it in this thread also