PDA

View Full Version : Calcium Preciptate Cloudiness:How Long Will It Last?

Branzer
07-09-2006, 07:29 PM
I'm a newbie to this forum (although I've been reading for HOURS). This is our 6th season with a 15X30 AG vinyl lined pool, and we've never had any real problems before. We usually open it sometime in May (Lower Michigan), but this year my husband had surgery and we couldn't open it till July 3rd. Slimy, green/brown mess, of course. After several days of shocking with powdered shock and algaecides, it was a very very pale green (barely) and cloudy. Trip to the pool store for computer analysis by the proverbial semi-trained staff. This resulted in a two page list of chemicals and instructions which ($88 later) has resulted in a profoundly cloudy (white, milky) pool. They had us add 6.75 lbs. of pH decreaser followed (immediately) by 14.75 lbs. of Calcium Hardness Increaser (don't worry, I now know I never needed that), then liquid clorine the next day(they didn't tell us to wait, my husband forgot it).
After all of my reading here, I'm pretty sure I have calcium preciptate cloudiness from the sequence of chemicals they prescribed and the powder shock. The last two rounds of powdered shock just floated around on top for about an hour.

Since then we have changed the sand in the filter (it was 5 years old...saw that on the 100 reasons list), new Nature2 cartridge, added a little bit of blue clarifier and have achieved (I think) "balance".
I will be getting a better test kit tomorrow, but all I had right now are test strips (sorry...I fell for the change in packaging and bought them by mistake) and a basic OTO, phenol red kit.
Results, such as they are:
OTO: pH7.6
Phenol red:0.4 after 3 seconds, 1.0 after 2 minutes

Test Strip:
TH: 200
FC:0
pH:7.5
TA: 120
CYA: 30-50