PDA

View Full Version : Bleach same as Chlorine

Lil Bit
07-02-2006, 02:16 PM
I see everyone talking about using bleach, is that the same as using chlorine?
Thanks!
I'm a rookie here!

Dr. Spike
07-02-2006, 02:18 PM
Yes it is. :)

Lil Bit
07-02-2006, 02:24 PM
Thank you.:o

CarlD
07-02-2006, 04:11 PM
Liquid chlorine from the pool store is Sodium Hypochlorite solution. So is regular and ultra bleach. Only the concentrations vary.

peggles0224
07-02-2006, 05:16 PM
so does replace chlorine tablets throughout the season? Just buy the bleach instead?

CarlD
07-02-2006, 05:31 PM
That's a different question. My answer would be "yes".

All chlorination chems ultimately add chlorine and it doesn't matter the source.

HOWEVER, each chem has other effects: Tri-Chlor tablets lower pH and add lots of stabilizer.
Di-Chlor powder lowers pH too, but not nearly as much. It also add stabilizer--a lot but not as much as Tri-Chlor.
Cal-Hypo adds calcium and tends to raise pH.
Lithium and potassium chlorites empty your wallet INCREDIBLY quickly.
Only bleach/Liquid chlorine has almost no side effects.

cleancloths
07-02-2006, 06:18 PM
Carl, that is not quite true. Most of what you said is 100% on, but bleach does tend to raise the pH quite a bit. At least in my experience.

CarlD
07-02-2006, 08:26 PM
I've heard that some people have found that bleach raises pH. It is not my personal experience, though.

cleancloths
07-02-2006, 08:56 PM
I've heard that some people have found that bleach raises pH. It is not my personal experience, though.

That is really strange, because if you tested the pH of bleach you would find it off the chart (to the high side). I find that my pool stays at a perfect pH level if I use a mix of 3" pucks which drop the pH and Bleach which raises it.

CarlD
07-02-2006, 09:07 PM
I know the pH of bleach is something like 11, but I rarely see my pH move when I use it (which is all the time). However, if I use pucks, it drops quite dramatically.

Watermom