PDA

View Full Version : Another Newbie needs help

mattbgm
06-23-2006, 12:15 PM
Hi Everyone,

I recently moved into a new home and inherited the ig pool. So this is my first time dealing with opening the pool. I have read a lot of the porblems and solutions in the forum and I wanted to start a new thread to pinpoint my issue.

When I opened the pool the water level was low so I filled up the pool to the mid skimmer level. I added the shock at that point. I then cleaned the pool and the water started to get clearer. As a result of reading all the solutions I started using the bleach method and the pool kept getting clearer with vacuuming and keeping the filter on 24/7. I noticed a yellowish ring around the pool that is about 1 ft wide all around the pool right around the original water level when I opened the pool. The pool water looks clear with a little cloudiness. I have put my chlorine level to 15, reading with the kit from Leslies Pool store and using the shot glass method. I have tried the Erase It stick that a pool store suggested and it does not work. I have a few questions:

1. What can I do to get rid of this ring around the pool?

2. What readings do I need for the different chemicals?

3. What is this yellow ring and is it harmful?

3. When can my kids start swimming?

Readings.

FC = 15
TC = 15
pH = 7.0
Alkalinity = 60

Please someone help me, my kids can't wait to get into the pool.

Thanks,
Matt.

Sorry, here are some details.

Pool Size: 16 x 32 inground pool
Type: Vinyl

Simmons99
06-23-2006, 01:14 PM
You need to post all your numbers including your CYA. Have you tried to rub a vitamin C tablet against the stain - does that help? If it does it is a metals stain. There is a sperate forum for dealing with metals.

mattbgm
06-23-2006, 02:50 PM