PDA

View Full Version : working a DE filter

fog80
04-05-2006, 01:35 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to my pool and I know I have a DE filter. I noticed that the pressure is quite high, any suggestions on how to lower it?

I was told to backwash through the waste line until I get clear water (all the DE is out) and then to open up the filter and add more DE.

Is that right?

Any more suggestions on running and maintaining a DE filter?

mwsmith2
04-05-2006, 02:30 PM
Um, kinda sorta right. Backwashing will lower the pressure by dumping all the DE media out. It needs to be recharged then, but not in the filter, you need to measure out the proper ammount of DE, mix it with water, and dump it in to the skimmer nearest the filter, it will suck it up and coat the grids for you.

If the filter is an old one, and you don't know if it has ever been broken down, you'll prolly need to break it down completely and manually remove all the built up DE. That's what happened to me. It's not hard, just time consuming.

Michael

waste
04-05-2006, 03:49 PM
Fog, knowing what kind of filter and what it's supposed to (pressure) read at is kind of important.

Could you please post the filter size and recomended # of DE ?

Given this info, I could help you better

StoshJ
04-05-2006, 05:37 PM