PDA

View Full Version : DE escaping from the filter into the pool...

leejp
06-19-2006, 10:12 AM
I have an older model Hayward EC-65 filter. In the last week or so, I've been noticing small amounts of DE in the pool. So some amount is slipping past the grid/fingers and returning into the pool.

So it looks like I'll have to take the unit apart and repair it. Before I do that I want to set my expectations and get an idea of what to expect. The best case is that a finger has a tear on it and the worst case is that there is a crack or a tear somewhere in the seal/plastics.

Since I've never done finger a replacement before. If it's the fingers... what should I look for?

I'm also mindful that the filter is quite old it may be a number of issues... I would like to at least limp along for this year before a replacement. ;(

waste
06-20-2006, 08:14 PM
I have an older model Hayward EC-65 filter. In the last week or so, I've been noticing small amounts of DE in the pool. So some amount is slipping past the grid/fingers and returning into the pool.

So it looks like I'll have to take the unit apart and repair it. Before I do that I want to set my expectations and get an idea of what to expect. The best case is that a finger has a tear on it and the worst case is that there is a crack or a tear somewhere in the seal/plastics.

Since I've never done finger a replacement before. If it's the fingers... what should I look for?

I'm also mindful that the filter is quite old it may be a number of issues... I would like to at least limp along for this year before a replacement. ;(