PDA

View Full Version : Green Algae

lynn2_cal
06-17-2006, 12:59 PM
This is my first time writing, but I've been reading for the past year since we had our pool put in a year ago. Everyone is so helpful and I have been able to find my answers by reading other's problems. So everyting has been great so far but now I need to know if I'm on the right track or need to drain 1/2 and refill to get my CYA down.

I have a 7500 gal IG pool, with SWG and solar. Water temp is upper 80's. I regularly only add M. acid and 7oz. of some stuff advised by Gemstone people to keep calcium from forming.

I have a cartridge filter that was just cleaned after using PhosFree to get my 1,000+ppm phosphates under control. (This was in the beginning of my battle with the algae and what was reccomended by pool store.) Later I read this was not necessary since I still have the algae problem!

I'm still fighting green algae. Not bad, water is clear, but there are areas where you see it on the walls and my skimmer socks are green when I take them out to clean.

After much reading I had my water tested at pool store since I don't have a test for CYA:

FAC .5
PH 7.8 (before adding 2 cups M. acid)
TA 60, (I tested it at home at 100)
CYA 100

Yesterday, after checking with Ben's Best Guess CYA table, I added 1 1/2 gallons bleach, and then before bed another 1 1/2 gallons. Using the shot glass method I figured my FAC at 27ppm, which with a CYA of 100 I needed it up to 27ppm. Correct?

I've also just read that it's bad for the TAC to be higher than the FAC. I didn't know that and that has always been the case.

Now this morning my FAC hasn't gone down so I haven't added anything more but I noticed my skimmer socks are light green again. Does this mean the algae is still alive or just getting filtered out of the water? How do you know when the algae is dead or alive. I will keep an eye on the chlorine and keep it up around 25. How may days?

Is this the correct battle plan?

Thanks in advance