PDA

View Full Version : Testing Questions

medvampire
06-15-2006, 04:48 AM
Hi all
First of all let me say thanks for all the good information and dictation of mods and users here in the forum.
I have been lurking for the past few weeks learning all I can and am starting to feel more confident about the pool chem thing.
I still have a few questions but I will post my numbers first.

Free Ch 3 (DPD method)
Total CH 3 (OTO method)
TH 250-260
ALK 160-170
CYA 20-30
PH 7.6

I am not new to testing being a med tech for 12 years but I am new to pool testing. Let me say I am anal retentive about accuracy and precision in testing. I am using off the shelf test methods for now. I will have to wait until next year to convince my future wife to let me spring for one of Ben’s test kits she thinks I have spent enough of testing right now. I have one of the Wal-Mart 5 way test, Aquachem test strips, and DPD tablet method. The pool is 24’ above ground 52” walls so I compute around 13000 to 14000 gallons. I have a 2 hp pump and 22 in sand filter.

1. Just how accurate do I need to be? The CH color standards are not very good.
2. I have my oldest do a strip test before I let them get in during the day because I work nights and am snoozing. Are they good enough to use for them to get a guess before getting in the pool?
3. Is there a better method for CYA than the turbidity method?
4. Does oxygen shock (what can I say I got pool stored before I found this site) affect the CH test?
5. When is the best time of day for me to test?
6. Will the ALK slowly come down over time by adding acid to keep the PH down to 7.4 or do I need to go ahead and do the low PH and aeration procedure?
7. Will I ever get my life back and get less anal about the chem. in the pool? :cool:

I have a few more questions but I will post in the correct topics.
Thanks in advance
Steve

JohnT
06-15-2006, 07:57 AM
I have a 2 hp pump and 22 in sand filter.