PDA

View Full Version : Need help-High Cya, calcium, and algae

Turbo
06-13-2006, 10:31 AM
I am new to learning about pools and am trying to get the constant algae out of my pool. Last weak in trying to learn about my pool I found the PS website and learned just enough to be dangerous. My ph was 6.8 and my TA was about 60. My pool is about 20k gallons. Anyway, I started adding borax to get the ph up and kept watching the TA to make sure it was okay. After adding 16 lbs. of borax over a couple of days, the ph went to 7.2 and the TA to 80. I started using bleach and kept using the trichor tabs I already had.

After more reading, I realized my test kit was probably too old and did not have reliable readings. I got a new kit and tested to find the ph at 7.2, fc at .5, TC at 1.0, TA at 150, Calcium was over 500 (stopped adding drops thinking I was doing something wrong), and CYA is way high- not even close to the first mark.

I took the trichor tabs out and dumped in 5 lbs. of 55% chlorine shock. What should I do next? I figure I need to get the CYA level down and the CH down as well while keeping chlorine levels high to get rid of the algea (not sure about the stained walls)

I have a sand filter by the way which has low pressure and low flow. After reading on this site, I now think the impeller on the pump must have some blockage.

Thanks for your help,

Greg

duraleigh
06-13-2006, 10:52 AM
Hi, Greg,

It appears you've got a good grasp of your issues...here's what I would do.

1. Fix the pump....the pool needs a good pump just like we need good hearts.

2. Simultaneously with fixing the pump, I'd get a bunch of Cl in there. Tell us what kind of pool you have before we recommend a dosage.

3. The best fix for a pool with the CYA and CH that high is to drain at least half of it and refill. Test and be prepared to drain half again. That should get your CH and CYA down to manageable levels.