PDA

View Full Version : new pool (1wk) here are chem results

mneal
06-12-2006, 06:29 PM
We have a 10 day old IGP (Marcite) and I got the water tested at a local pool store. They had me buy about $100 of stuff . When I asked if results are effected by the new pool surface (I am still brushing 2X day), they didn't really know so I thought I would get second opinion here. The water is clear and I think as a newbie I am doing OK. I received a small test kit from PB and surprising (or maybe not) it's results are not same as pool store. Oh, I have a auto chlorine dispenser set about 25% open. I am going to buy one of Ben's kits, bummer it sounds like they have quite a lead time.

Total Chlorine 1.0 ppm
Free Chlorine 1.0 ppm
Ph 7.5
Calcium Hardness 160 ppm
Stabilizer 25ppm
TDS 325 ppm
Total Alk 65ppm

I am sorta worried about adding the stabilizer and Calcium hardness since reversion is difficult. Thoughts from the Pros? BTW:This site has taught me more in a month since I found it then I have ever thought possible. Thanks to all who contribute.

mneal
06-14-2006, 01:58 PM
No advise?

CarlD
06-14-2006, 02:12 PM
Total Chlorine 1.0 ppm
Free Chlorine 1.0 ppm
Ph 7.5
Calcium Hardness 160 ppm
Stabilizer 25ppm
TDS 325 ppm
Total Alk 65ppm

TC, FC, a bit low--Aim for 3ppm

pH: PERFECT

CH--a little low for a concrete pool--you want 200-400ppm. You can add calcium or chlorinate with Cal-hypo until calcium is in range. For a vinyl pool we don't worry about calcium until it hits 500ppm

Stabilizer(CYA): a tad low but OK. Since you are using a auto-chlorinator (I assume with tablets) that will come up on its own. 30-50 is the normal range. When it hits 50ppm, stop using tablets or powders and switch to bleach for chlorine.

TDS: A BS # pool stores like because it sounds important. When it hits 4000 you MAY need to pay attention to it, but probably not. Even then, unless you actually have a problem, TDS is totally irrelevant.