PDA

View Full Version : Baquacil to Bleach conversion (help needed)

revhendrix
06-10-2006, 12:45 PM
Hi - newbie here and help would be much appreciated. We just bought a house in the Winter with a 20,000gal IG pool (fiberglass/vinal liner) and a sand filter. We had it opened by a pool company on May 22. The pool has previously been treated with Baquacil and the pool company opened w/Baquacil prior to us having any knowledge about the stuff (never asked for our preference). After a few weeks of frustration and reading this forum, my husband and I have decided to make the switch to Chlorine!! We're in New England and the weather, being so bad of late, has helped with our decsion since we are a few weeks away from swimming with warmer water.

Background: after opening and shocking with Baquacil it was very cloudy, then the pool store had us add many chemicals to clear the water: sanitizer, clarifier, PH +, alum (to settle the dead algae), Baquacil ultra (don't know why we are very new at this). Meanwhile, we vaccumed the greenish, cloudy water and backwashed alot. We ran the filter 24/7, sometimes on skimmer, sometimes on drain. Now the water is clear and there is some areas of algae on liner and bottom that need to be vaccumed. It has always been difficult, if possible at all, to see the bottom in the deep end. Every time we vaccuum or brush this stuff it recirculates and clouds up the water and we start all over again............................

Now, water test at the pool store yesterday shows the following:

PH: 8
Baquacil level: 15
TA: 100
Ca: 200

After reading several of the conversion threads, I understand the process but have a few questions:

1. The pool store is trying to sell us a "super shock" instead of using bleach. Any good or are they just trying to sell me something I don't need?? At this point, I'm not too sure I trust these pool store companies........!!