PDA

View Full Version : What Went Wrong?

CoffeeBean
06-10-2006, 09:43 AM
Can someone tell me why I got so much more green gunk algae this year when 1) I dumped the recommended (by Ben) amount of Polyquat in the pool last fall which I've never done before 2) I had all the #s right on and shocked it just before putting the cover on it?

I've spoken to several locals who gleefully tell me how crystal their water was when they uncovered. And I thought I was doing the "right" thing to avoid the mess I have.

Insight gratefully accepted so I don't repeat this mess next year.

Thanks.

CoffeeBean

tundraSQ
06-10-2006, 10:03 AM
I would start here....I think it would be the warm weather and lack of filter and FC, compounded by the mesh cover letting organic matter get into your pool. Plus it would seem you had warm weather and no FC for at least a couple months brewing underthat cover. I try and get my cover off as soon as i can and get the filter going and stabalize the FC once the water gets above 50 degrees.

just took the cover off of our 16X32 AG pool (with vinyl liner and 6.5 deep end) and YUCK! Last year was green but with the help of Ben's kit and the advice here I got it cleared up and running. I put it "to bed" for the winter using Ben's advice for winterizing and used the typical black woven pool cover. It was a mild winter here in western PA and April was untypically warm. I probably should've taken the cover off then but knew the weather wouldn't stay that way. I think that cover is awful. It seems to let all the blowing dirt drift right down into the pool.

CoffeeBean
06-10-2006, 12:12 PM
I sort of figured that might have been the combination. I guess I just have to start much earlier next year.

We bought a solid cover for it but never had the time to install the deck anchors last fall. You can bet we will this year!

Thanks.

CoffeeBean

CarlD
06-10-2006, 12:17 PM