PDA

View Full Version : Green Hair????

readytoscream
06-01-2006, 11:00 PM
I am a newbie also. I have an above ground 24' round. We filled it up using water that goes thru our water filtration system. After testing, I found out that the pH level is zero and the total alkalintiy is zero. Chlorine was low, but I have added some to it and it is better. My studies of pools have led me to believe that the copper level is way too high. Need help!!!!!!Anyone please!!!!!

cwstnsko
06-01-2006, 11:06 PM
I don't remember my chemistry that well, but I don't think your pH is 0. How are you doing the test? How old is the test kit? Alakalinity can be raised by adding baking soda, which will also raise the pH. If your water truly was anywhere close to 0, it'd be interesting to watch when you added the baking soda :) That's one of the ways they make volcano's in school science projects

waterbear
06-01-2006, 11:13 PM
First of all you need to post some test numbers for Free chlorine, total chlorine, pH, total Alkalinity, Calcium, and CYA (stabilizer). How are you testing the water. Are you using test strips, a drop based kit, or having the pool store do it? It is immpossible for pH to be 0! if you filled your pool with concentrated sulfuric acid the pH would be 1!:eek: Why do you think you have copper in your water? Have you tested for it? A little more info would be helpful in determining just what problem you are having. Your post title is "Green Hair". Has anyones hair turned green after going into the pool?

waterbear
06-01-2006, 11:25 PM
I just noticed the winking icon in the title of this post. I also notices that this is 'readytoscreams' first post! I think someone is having fun but I think it is a sorry way to do it. There are too many people on here who are serious about asking for help with real problems. If this is not a bogus post I applogize and will try to help you but if it is I think the moderators need to alert Ben about this person.

Just my 2 cents!

readytoscream