PDA

View Full Version : Using BBB Method for my First Year as Pool Owner - Going Great - I think?

harshja
07-25-2013, 12:25 PM
August will complete my first year owning my new house w/ my first pool. When I overtook the pool maintenance duties, this is the first place I came for everything - because I literally knew nothing.

Firstly, the pool specs:

In-ground concrete pool, about 15 years old.
Seems to have been pretty well maintained, though some repair work was obviously done on the tiles & some of the lining.
Since no specs were given to me, and utilizing my skills as a Mechanical Engineer, I think I have properly estimated my pool volume @ 10,000 gal. - almost exactly. I drew up a CAD layout to calculate head loss on the pipes too because that's what we engineers do for fun (and to figure out if my 2 HP pump was way overkill, which I think it is, but separate issue).
Lots of direct sunlight throughout the day, some shade in the morning, a bit more in the later evening. With evaporation, I find that I have to refill w/ my faucet probably 45-60 mins per week. Not sure what that flow rate would be, but everyone has an outdoor faucet so it's kind of like that.
I backwash after heavy rains with debris, after pool parties, or spontaneously when it has been a while - probably twice a month on average. I have a DE filter.

Immediately the BBB Method caught my eye & I began buying bleach in bulk @ Home Depot, along with Muriatic Acid. Target had a clearance on their 4 lb. boxes of Baking Soda so you can bet I bought out their shelf. I threw some boxes of Borax into my cart too.

Also to preface, my first purchase after reading through the site was the FAS-DPD test kit from Taylor (K-2006). It has worked really well, and I have purchased a few replacement bottles of reagents as needed from TFTestkits - sometimes ordering their proprietary version, or sometimes the Taylor genuine depending on their availability.

My questions after 1 year of experience: