PDA

View Full Version : Pool is cloudy and PH / Chlorine wont come up!!

dxdodger
06-10-2013, 08:01 AM
I have a 24' round above ground pool with an electric heater (approx. 14,000 gallons). The pool has been open for several weeks now and the chemicals have just not been right since we have opened it. In the beginning of the season, we were low on PH and I added soda ash (which I normally don't use) and it stained my liner green and we had to buy a $50 bottle of stain remover to get it out! I have never used Soda Ash before but Leslies recommended it once last year and the same thing happened and now this year they recommended it again which is when it stained. I told them this never happened before we used soda ash - they blamed the metal in our pipes, but we have plastic pipes so....at any rate, our pool water is now cloudy - so cloudy that you cant see the bottom of the pool, you can barely see your hand in front of your face. We keep shocking the pool and the test strips are registering very low or no chlorine at all - which we also have several chlorine pucks in it. The PH is low- I keep adding PH Increase and it does nothing. Our alkalinity is fine - I use Baking soda for that. But, for the past week we haven't been able to get our chlorine and our PH to come up. I just don't understand why our pool water is so cloudy. My husband has been backwashing several times a week and our filter runs constantly due to our heater being run. Any ideas or suggestions? I can have Leslies Pool Supply test our water too, but I am afraid they will have us do something else that will end up costing us more money. We never really had too many pool problems until we started shopping at Leslies, but now there are no more pool stores in the area. HELP!! PS..My husband says to mention (which he thinks it has something to do with) the fact that we have had several days of heavy rains which may be diluting the chemicals???

Watermom
06-10-2013, 08:41 AM