PDA

View Full Version : New Member - Pool Newbie saying hello

rmergen
06-06-2013, 07:59 AM
My wife and I just purchased a new home with a beautiful in-ground pool! It was a huge selling point for us as we both had pools growing up. We are very excited about it. We close in early July so I am gathering information so I can be ready to take over maintaining it from the previous owners. They currently have a pool company maintaining it until closing. In the contract they said they would leave all pool equipment for us so I am not sure what type of test kit (if they have one) or other equipment they use.

I am a pool newbie - only experience is helping my Father with our above ground when I was a kid.
However, we do have a spa at our camp so I have some experience with water chemistry and balance.

Looking forward to joining the Pool Forum community!
I have followed you on twitter and filled out the registration form. Good day everyone!

Watermom
06-06-2013, 08:59 AM
It is always good to do your homework upfront! It will make your pool care a lot easier. Getting a good test kit is the single best thing you can do. We recommend a Taylor K-2006 or 2006C (link in my signature). Go ahead and order it so you'll have it ahead of time. Do a lot of reading on the forum, especially the stickies at the top of each sub-forum. Also, read on our sister website www.poolsolutions.com. Lots of good information there as well. Come back whenever you have some specific questions and someone here will help you get started with your pool.

Welcome to the Pool Forum!

rmergen
06-06-2013, 11:34 AM
Thanks WM. I will look into both of those. Seems to be the standard and everything i would need in a test kit. ive used strips in the past, but have had inconsistant results in the spa and my aquariums.
Currently, all i can see is the 'getting started' thread so I will poke around there until I can see more topics. I appricate the reply and thanks for the warm welcome.

Watermom