PDA

View Full Version : green water

Lauralai
05-30-2006, 04:20 PM
Hi
I'm new to the world of pools since we just moved into a house with a pool. It was closed in December apparently, so all the leaves that were falling from the 5 trees in our back yard ended up in the pool. When we took the cover off it was black, smelled and had leaves everywhere. We have since gotten out 90% of the leaves, and have a green pool and can't see more than 2 feet down if that. I think the pool size is 30,000L but I'm not 100% sure, it is above ground and has a vinyl liner and sand filter. We have added chlorine, and as told by the pool shop algeacide and a clarifier. Neither of which have helped much if at all. I have been reading the forum for a bit today and have read that you should put chlorine in it and keep it at 15. My drop tester only tests for chlorine that goes up to 3.0 though and I have phoned local stores and no one seems to have one that goes past 4 or 5. I would order one from the net but I have no CC. I was wondedring what I should do to get rid of the green water, add more chlorine, algeacide, clarifier. We went back to the local pool shop and they said to add green free and that, that should work for the green water. Well they have said to add both algecide and clarifier and neither worked so I have given up on there advice.
When we had the water tested on the 28th here are the levels.
Chlorine 4.0
PH 7.2
Alk 95
Stabilizer 0

I have yet to get a proper test kit because I was wondering which things I need to test for? Also the chlorine should be high since I added a bunch in last night and just tested it now and while my test wouldn't read it, it was a bright yellow colour. The filter has also been on for the last 2 days.

Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated.

jdolby
05-30-2006, 09:18 PM