PDA

View Full Version : The Princess and the Algae!

theonetruenewb
05-28-2006, 03:02 PM
Ok. I am not a princess, but I like to think... well yeah anyhow. HELP!

I am brand new to the world of pool care and it seems that my parents pool has become too much for them to deal with. We've now been through liner shrinkage to horrible algae. Horrible algae is what has me stuck. Here is what I've collected information wise thus far and intend to figure out exactly how many gallons this stupid pool is as well.

Chlorine on the dipstick registered at either 0 or .5. I *know* this is way too low, but I am unsure what my mom has done thus far and I'm unsure how I should up and what I should up it to.

ph is (now get this, I got 2 different readings off two different sticks.) either 6.8 or 7.8 depending on which stick I use.

alk is either 80 or 180, depending on which stick I trust there.

Yep, I tried two different tests to be sure I was getting the right results and 10 sticks later (5 of each type) the above is without a doubt the result. :eek: Although one stick was a baqua something or another and not meant to test chlorine level.. but I was thinking it should at least correctly measure ph and alk? Oi!

If you've kept up with me thus far, you are a true pool God or Goddess, whichever the case may be. I am right now going to go take a picture to post and attempt to determine the correct size of the pool so I can get the right help.

Thank you!

The One True Newb.

theonetruenewb
05-28-2006, 03:23 PM
Ok, I'm back. You're excited right? Nah? It's ok. :p

Here is the photo

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a278/emmagotchi/pool1.jpg

Now lol. My mom came home and filled me in on what's she's tried thus far. Yesterday at about 4pm she added about 4 lbs of stabilizer. This morning at 9 am she added 6 oz of algaecide and then at 10 am she shocked it.

The pool is 15,000 gallons and is 18'x33' oval.