PDA

View Full Version : Low Chlorine Problems

nscclukas
07-29-2012, 11:20 AM
OK I'll start by saying I'm a newbie. I'm not sure how many details I can give, or should give, but here we go.

I told my mother-inlaw I would try to be her pool boy this spring, as she is gone a lot, so I have been trying to learn from your website for the last couple months off & on.

She spent lots of $ dumping in whatever the local pool guy told her over the past 20 years. I have been trying to convince her the BBB method will save her $ & have a nicer, easier to maintain pool. It has worked pretty good up until recently, I can't seem to keep the chlorine levels up & now have an algae problem.

The pool is a 16,000 gal. in ground fiberglass pool, it has a chlorinator, she has been using for years, so the CYA is high, over 100, have gotten mixed readings from the local dealer, ranging from 107-168. He says his machine won't give a accurate reading if the chlorine level is above 3, well from my reading, I have been trying to keep it around 8.

I shut off the chlorinator early on, to save $ on sticks & stop raising the CYA, but the last week have put in 4 gallons of bleach & TC still below 1. The mother-inlaw dumped in a couple bags of shock last night. Will see if that helps? Or was the right choice?

But she just did it & told me later, because I haven't been being a good enough pool boy.

LoL Help Please

PoolDoc
07-29-2012, 09:25 PM
I'll try to look at this again tomorrow but it's getting late, so I'll post some relevant snippets that will help get you started.

Ben

================================================