PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question about Bleach

gogolion
07-20-2012, 12:08 PM
I'm a pool newbie this year and things have been going fine so far. I discovered this forum and I'm going to start the BBB method. My K2006 test kit is arriving today. I'll probably post my numbers here before doing anything. One of my concerns is the use of bleach and possible damage to bathing suits. I've searched the forum and haven't been able to find any guidelines about that, other than some posts where folks say "wear an old suit" under certain conditions because of possible fading. Getting to my actual question finally, at what chlorine levels should I be worried about damage/fading of bathing suits? I'm having a party this weekend and don't want to ruin all my guests suits!

I've listed my pool info in my sig, let me know if I've left out any important info.

Thanks,
Mike

BigDave
07-20-2012, 01:24 PM
I you haven't yet looked at Ben's Best Guess Chart (http://www.poolsolutions.com/gd/best-guess-swimming-pool-chlorine-chart.html), you should. It describes the relationship between Cyanuric Acid (CYA) and Free Chlorine (FC) and the effects of high FC. The posts you've seen warning of potential swimsuit damage were probably about swimming in a pool at shock levels of chorine.

PoolDoc
07-20-2012, 01:25 PM
We've approached this carefully, over a number of years. We haven't been exactly sure whether high chlorine + high CYA behaved exactly like low chlorine + low CYA. We knew they were equivalent, with respect to sanitation and algae, but not with other things like swim suits.

However, at this point I can tell you that there's a lot of evidence that the bleaching effects (on fabric, etc.) of chlorine at levels NORMAL for THAT CYA level are about the same. In other words, if you follow the Best Guess chart, the effects on your swimsuit will be similar, regardless of the CYA bracket (horizontal row on the table) you are in.