PDA

View Full Version : Better hoses for Intex pools?

IGnatius T Foobar
07-18-2012, 05:08 PM
Hey everyone, forum newbie here, hope to make some friends :)

This is our first year with a pool, an Intex 14' Ultra Frame. So far we're very pleased with it.

I would like to move the filter pump (1000 GPH cartridge model) and SWG to a site about 20-25 feet away from the pool. Do these pumps have enough pull to do that, or am I asking for trouble?

Even if I can't re-site the equipment, I'd still like to replace the cheap plastic hoses with something a little more durable. What's a good type of hose to use for this application, and can anyone point me to some links that show how a good do-it-yourselfer completed this task?

aylad
07-18-2012, 05:56 PM
Hi Ignatius,

I can't answer your questions, but there are folks around here who can--just sit tight and someone should be along soon. However, while you're waiting, you can use the google search feature linked in my sig (you'll have to log out to read the results until Ben upgrades your registration) to search the forum and archives for info regarding your question.

Welcome to the forum!

PoolDoc
07-20-2012, 07:26 PM
I would like to move the filter pump (1000 GPH cartridge model) and SWG to a site about 20-25 feet away from the pool. Do these pumps have enough pull to do that, or am I asking for trouble?

Even if I can't re-site the equipment, I'd still like to replace the cheap plastic hoses with something a little more durable

I know the Intex hoses are cheap, but I haven't seen evidence that they fail very much. That may simply be because people haven't posted that info here, or it may be that the hoses are actually quite durable.