PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

TSavage
07-15-2012, 10:37 AM
Having problems with cloudiness in a small 18' round above ground Intex pool with SWG. Worked fine for a few weeks till the SWG gave up the ghost and algae developed. I am now trying to "Re-establish" the correct chemistry and I am a rank novice. I've replaced the SWG with a new one. I shocked twice with Aqua-Chem's "Shock Xtra Blue". Added 1 qt of "Scale and Metal Stain Control". I am now learning that less chemicals is better. I am also waiting for delivery of a HTH 6-way test kit (Not available locally for me) and using the 6 way "Guess strips" at the moment. The water has cleared somewhat from the algae green to a semi-clear bluish color but still remains milky/cloudy. Im thinking this is result of the Scale/metal stain chemical reacting to my well water. This is my first post and will post more specific numbers when I get an appropriate test kit. Thanks in advance, Tim

Watermom
07-15-2012, 11:35 PM
You are right that we will need some current numbers to be able to help. Also, please fill in our pool chart with your pool's information. It makes it easier for someone here to help you.

Pool Chart Entry Form (http://goo.gl/cNPUO)
Pool Chart Results (http://goo.gl/PXaLu)

Quit adding all the pool store products. They are most likely not helping and probably making things worse. What are the ingredients in the Shock Xtra Blue?

Turn off the SWCG until you get this cleared up.

Welcome to the Pool Forum!

aylad
07-16-2012, 04:48 PM
By "turn off the SWCG until you get this cleared up", Watermom means turn off the SWCG so you're not burning up cell life, and chlorinate manually instead, using bleach or another form of chlorine. We can help you figure doses once you get the current water results she's asking for.

Janet

TSavage
07-16-2012, 10:26 PM
Thank you.