PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Montreal!

nick182
06-05-2012, 02:05 PM
Greetings!

My name is Nick, I'm from Montreal. I just moved in a house (bought) in late fall; so I became the owner of an older vinyl in-ground pool. The specs are

Roughly 12-13K gallons (50,000 liters)
HP Pump
Sand filter
No salt or chlorinatore; using a floating dispenser.

I'm a true newbie at pool maintenance, although I've begun educating myself by reading several threads here and at other websites, as well as having chats and analysis done at pool store (which has not always been useful). So I'm learning the ropes, and this website has been the most useful I would say!

Pool was recently opened (late may); unfortunately, the pool has been closed very early in fall last year, so there is a lot of algae in there. Green water, 12-18 inch visibility max.. pH was at 7.3 yesterday, some Alk again to push it in the 7.5 zone...
I'm chlorinating w/ the floater but after reading more, I've begun agressively "shocking" the pool. Yesterday night, I shocked w/ 2 pounds of calcium hypochlorite (50% chlorine avail. approx), and a few hours later, I've emptied a full gallon of sodium hypochlorite/bleach (10% chlorine), most agressive shock so far. Backwashing whenever the pressure gets up 5-6 psi+, almost every other day so far, water coming out is pretty green for about 60+ secs or so...

Despite latest shock, no improvements yet in water appearance... same visibility this morning. Will keep at it!! THis thread will be my way of keeping my moral up :)

2 initial questions for you:

1) should I keep adding sod. hypochlorite during daytime? My understanding is that a lot will be lost to sunlight, so I was thinking about shocking every day at sunset, with 1-2 gallons of sod. hypochlorite and keep fighting the algae