PDA

View Full Version : Multiple filters?

bobmcj
06-03-2012, 12:13 PM
I have been reading about the different types of filters, (sand, DE, Cartridge) I like the idea of the easiness of the sand filter, but like the idea of Cartridge filter. I was wondering about using both. I have found some post that pose the question, however there was no answer. I have seen the suggestion of both connecting them in series and parallel, switching between the two. I have read about using DE in the sand filter, however that would mean involvement on every backwash. Being an automation engineer, I would like to automate the backwash and not have to worry about it.

Bob

mas985
06-03-2012, 03:00 PM
There really is no point to having multiple filters. When sizes properly, you only need one filter. If you get a large enough cartridge filter, you will only have to clean it once a year and will trap more dirt than the sand filter so really the sand filter would be pointless. If you put DE in the sand filter, it will probably equal the cartridge filter in trapping dirt so the cartridge becomes pointless.

The choice in filter is really what you want to deal with. Personally, I like the cartridge since it filters well and I only have to clean it once a year. Plus back-washing would mean replacing CYA and salt for the SWG much more than I do now.

PoolDoc
06-04-2012, 09:44 PM
Being an automation engineer, I would like to automate the backwash and not have to worry about it.

OK, I'm grinning, big time. :D :rolleyes:

You have two options, in automating pool gear:

1. You can use pool industry valving, controls, and actuators, in which case automation is the REASON why you'll have to worry about it.
2. You can use full industrial piping and controls, in which case your automation may well cost more than your pool does.