PDA

View Full Version : Kem Tek 338 vs Jack's Magic Purple Stuff in salt pool?

JimK
05-30-2012, 03:14 PM
I've been using Jack's Magic Purple Stuff successfully for several years to prevent metal staining in my salt water pool (I use a SWCG for chlorination).

Lately, I've been pretty active on this forum learning ways to save money on chemicals.

I've noticed Kem Tek 338 Metal & Calcium Remover is a bit less expensive than Purple Stuff. However, I noticed the Purple Stuff is specifically formulated for salt/high TDS pools (Jack's Magic states it's much more effective than other sequestrants in such conditions); there is no mention of this on the Kem Tek product.

I've emailed Kem Tek, but I can guess what they will say though. While I'm waiting for a response, do any of our experts here know if the Kem Tek product is just as effective as the Purple Stuff in salt/SWCG pools?

Thanks.

PS - As discussed before in another thread of this forum there is a question about whether or not I still need a sequestrant, but I'll save that question for another time once I'm able to conduct an experiment suggested by PoolDoc (Ben).

PoolDoc
05-31-2012, 07:17 PM
All the products you mention are HEDP. Kem-Tek is a 20% concentration, but I don't know the concentrations in the Jacks' product. Other than impurities they should be identical . . . IF you can determine concentration.

HEDP was developed by Monsanto as part of their "DeQuest" line. I'm not sure if they still make it; probably most of it is coming from Asia now, as chemical regulations make it extremely difficult to manufacture commodity chemicals profitably here in the US. Asian purities can be suspect, so the question is about quality control, but I doubt you're going to get good answers there.

28 July 2012 update:
HEDP

Jack's Magic Blue Stuff (20% solution)
Jack's Magic Purple Stuff (20% solution)
Jack's Magic Pink Stuff (60% solution)
ProTeam Metal Magic (30% solution)
RamChem Ram Metal Hold ((60% solution? )