PDA

View Full Version : Razzysmom's thread

razzysmom
05-27-2012, 08:40 AM
Hi. I would like to thank you for the great information on here. It has helped me greatly. I have an Intex 20X52. I just upgraded to a Columbia 22" 2hp filter/pump system. Got it running yesterday morning-everything is great. I have an intex skimmer that hangs from the side that I use to vac with also. I was vac'n & was okay then lost suction. I emptied the the vac mess bag and never really could get it to do good again. Had friends come over & we got in and I left the filter/pump running. It pulls in water from the skimmer basket. We were in it maybe 30 min to 1 hr. When I went to get floats out I realized I had a pile of sand under my water inlet! Please help me-what happened? Did I vac wrong? This is my third yr with the pool and my first year of having nothing but problems. Past 2 yrs have been great. I'm totally new to the sand filter. Please help-I would love to be able to enjoy my pool! Thanks!

BigDave
05-27-2012, 12:47 PM
Sounds like a really big pump for that filter. Have you backwashed the filter? Sand from the return could indicate that something is broken in the filter.

PoolDoc
05-27-2012, 08:47 PM
I had never heard of a 'Columbia 22"' - unfortunately I'm afraid we're going to here a lot more about them.

I just spent about 20 minutes looking at their website. It appears they are marketing a group of Chinese made filters, pumps and filter / pump combos. I don't know anything about the manufacturing quality (except as regards the sand filter problem you are having) but I can tell that their pool system engineering is really crappy - even by US AG product standards, which are really bad. I'm going point out the site to my moderators, because I'm afraid this is a product line we are going to need to know about.