PDA

View Full Version : AquaRite installation: how hard is it?

dbursch
05-19-2006, 10:28 PM
I'm not experienced with PVC pipe fitting but it sounds easy enough. I have a pretty short distance between my heater and where my return line dives into the ground. The install manual says you need so much straight pipe prior to the cell so the flow sensor works properly. How critical is that? Is the electrical complicated? :confused:

tphaggerty
05-19-2006, 11:41 PM
I didn't put mine in, but watched like a hawk while my builder put it in. The chlorinator + flow meter are probably 12 to 14" long with 2" outside fittings, so you will need that much space.

The electricals are quite easy. The system comes with 2 sets of wires that plug in. A white wire set, about the thickness of a toaster plug, runs the chlorinator and is prewired at the chlorinator and plugs into the controller. The flow meter is also pre-wired and has a telephone plug at the other end that goes into the controller.

Our controller is on the same circuit that the pump is on, both controlled by an Intermatic timer. All in all, if you have wired anything in your house, you should be able to do it. The one thing I learned from my PB, clean, then clean, then clean again when you are joining PVC. I would not hesitate to install one myself if I had too (of course, I've seen it done!).

mrmrk49
05-20-2006, 01:41 AM
Wiring the SWG controls to the same (timer-controlled) AC line as the pump doesn't sound like a good idea to me: pumps are 'noisy', I suspect they have large surge currents like an air conditioner (not really sure though), and would likely produce voltage spikes when turned off.

All of these are bad for integrated circuits and transistors; any voltage spikes on the ground line during turn-off can easily blow most ICs

I know that Hayward also recommends wiring to the pumps AC supply, not really sure why since I think they still have a flow sensor anyway.