PDA

View Full Version : New Member

amyjtaylor
05-19-2012, 05:32 PM
I am new with this BBB method first time of trying it.Had a few questions about the amount of things to add.Went to the chart that helps you figure out the amounts but was not sure if that was the dosage for a freshly filled pool?

Watermom
05-19-2012, 06:22 PM
You need to tell us more before we can help. What kind of pool is it, volume, type of filter, size of pump. Also, we need some current water testing results taken with a drops-based kit. If you don't have a good kit, you need one. We recommend the Taylor K-2006 or 2006C from the test kit link in my signature below.

Supply us with the requested information, tell us what all you have put into your pool -- meaning ingredients and not just "shock" --- and somebody will help you go from there.

Welcome to the Pool Forum!

amyjtaylor
05-20-2012, 01:20 PM
I have a intex easy set 18x48 with the small cheap pumps that come with them.I have put nothing in the water except fresh water from the water hose and i have a small test kit from walmart that test the chlorine and ph.The ph is testing in range already but nothing on the chlorine.Is it okay to use the chlorine tablets along with the bleach or does it need to be the granules?Thank u .

Watermom
05-20-2012, 04:41 PM
You can use any form of chlorine that you want but you just don't want to mix them outside of the pool. If this is a freshly filled pool, the reason your chlorine is disappearing so fast is because there is no CYA (stabilizer) in the water. The tablets have CYA in them so if you use them, it will slowly add CYA. What kind of granules do you have? Cal-hypo or Dichlor?

If you have no chlorine in their right now, you need to get some in there before the pool turns green! It doesn't take long!