PDA

View Full Version : Is there an ideal cyanuric acid level?

peatree
03-24-2012, 12:29 PM
Looked through all six pages and could find no thread. I'm a newbie and would like to know if there is an optimum concentration for CYA. If a thread was missed massive apology for the redundancy. Thank you for providing such a valuable library of information.

Watermom
03-24-2012, 12:45 PM
Hi and welcome to the Pool Forum! For most pools, CYA in the 40 to 50 range is what we suggest. Some folks in really hot areas, deliberately run theirs a little higher to help them keep chlorine in the pool. Hope this helps. Let us know if you have more questions.

peatree
03-24-2012, 01:09 PM
Thank you, kindly.

Watermom
03-24-2012, 07:17 PM
You are most welcome.

bobcat
03-30-2012, 10:02 AM
So maybe 60-70 for Central Texas?

aylad
03-30-2012, 12:57 PM
I would start at 50-ish, let it stay for a week or so, and see how much chlorine you lose in a given day. Then bump it up to 60-70, and see if your daily chlorine loss lowers. If so, then you can stay there or maybe bump it up just a little more. If not, then it's not hard to backwash out 10-20 ppm CYA to get it back down to the 50 range. ;)

I'm close to Shreveport LA, and I keep mine in the 80-90 ppm range, but my pool is in full sun all day. I find that with a CYA of 40-50, I lose approx. 4-5 ppm chlorine in a day. At 80-90, that daily loss drops to around 2 ppm.

Just remember that as you raise your CYA, you must also raise your minimum chlorine levels (see the link to the best guess chlorine chart in my sig). I know it seems like you're still using more chlorine, but once you get to your required baseline, it still uses less to replace 2 ppm daily than it does to replace 4 ppm.

peatree
04-06-2012, 06:07 PM
Thank you again for your bountiful information. After reading several times, I finally "get" the necessity of keeping the pH so finely tuned. Thanks to:

http://richardfalk.home.comcast.net/~richardfalk/pool/OBrien.pdf