PDA

View Full Version : Difference between Photometer and Titration Method readings

jennie ehs
03-19-2012, 10:51 AM
Hello all, I'm a swimming pool inspector and recently my employers bought a Palintest photometer. When I tested the pools for Free Available Chlorine/Total Chlorine/Combined Cl, the photometer has been giving me a 0.2 ppm Combined Chlorine reading more than the titration method.

For example, I'll get 0 Combined on the titration method, and 0.2 ppm on the photometer, or 0.3 ppm on the photometer and 0.1 ppm when I titrate. I'm wondering if the photometer is just more accurate, but I'm a bit concerned because these readings were taken on pools that historically have no Combined Chlorines (via titration method).

Does anyone have any experience switching over to photometers from titration, and can shed some light on my readings?

aylad
03-19-2012, 12:29 PM
Hi Jennie, and welcome to the forum!

I can't give you an answer to your questions but I know that there are at least 4 or 5 folks on this forum that can. The traffic around here is just starting to pick up, though, so don't give up if it takes a day or two to get some responses!

PoolDoc
03-19-2012, 12:34 PM
Hi Jennie;

A comparative study was done on a variety of kits a few years back, and the bottom line was, pool testers (all methods) are not very accurate. I've been trying to get a copy of the actual study. I'll try again. Either way, I'll follow up on this shortly. I do have a news report of that test.

However, if you are still connected with the UCLA school of EH, can you possibly get a "test the testers" project going?

Anyhow, back soon.

Ben / PoolDoc

jennie ehs
03-19-2012, 01:30 PM
Thanks for the replies! I'll bring up the possibility of testing the testers to the bosses and see if they're open to it.

PoolDoc
03-19-2012, 02:39 PM
OK, I reached the person who had the info, and unfortunately, there was not one definitive report.