PDA

View Full Version : Valve Positioning Help Needed

anthonyd
02-24-2012, 02:06 PM
I'm a newbie and currently have a pool service taking care of my pool here in south Florida.

My question is valve position for day to day use and then when vacuuming. A few months ago I asked the pool guy to position the valves for day to day and also when vacuuming and took pictures for reference. Of course that has changed over the last few months so I figured I'd inquire with you.

The attached picture was taken last night - this is the way the valves sit right now. The pump is on a timer. The vacuum attachment is on the side of the pool, not inside the skimmer.

Please let me know how I should have them positioned daily, and also how to have them positioned for optimal suction during vacuuming.

Thanks in advance.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/--Q6NGqFLv7A/T0vDO8IChsI/AAAAAAAABXE/eim83kVeWkE/s800/pool.jpg

PoolDoc
02-24-2012, 06:57 PM
Hi Anthony;

I need to scare you, first:

your pool piping appears to be capable of gut-sucking a person

http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2009/US/01/15/entrapment.pools/art.entrapment.injury.safekids.jpg http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2009/US/01/15/entrapment.pools/art.suction.injury1.safekids.jpg

Here's why:

Your existing valving appears to be capable of isolating your skimmer, your main drain, and your vacuum line, resulting in 100% of the suction flow from your pump going through a single line. Most people don't realize that the suction from a pump, is capable of trapping someone and holding them underwater till they drown, or of literally, turning their intestines inside out. In the first case, victims usually die. They usually die in the second case, too, but only after months of agony and millions in hospital bills.