PDA

View Full Version : Bleach? I've also got cloudy water

cjayc
05-15-2006, 06:44 PM
I didn't know that you could use bleach in place of shock. Is bleach better that granular chlorine? It seems like everytime I use the granules, my pool get more cloudy. I am unable to see the bottom of pool now, a couple of day ago, it was starting to clear up. I have done everything that I was told by two separate pool supply places, and nothing works. I was wondering if I changed my sand in the filter, that maybe it would clear up. I am very new to this pool, we moved in last year and the pool was already here. The previous owners did not leave any info on how to take care of anything. My tests come out fine, but it is with strips. I am going to go out an get a drop test. Any help would be wonderful. Thank you.

Also, I have very large above ground pool. At least 10,000 gallons, probably more. I don't know if that makes a difference.

Crystal

PatL34
05-15-2006, 09:11 PM
Welcome to the forum.

The shock that you are using is calcium hypochlorite, and should only be used for a sudden upset, as you say it will cloud up the pool if used by itself and also increase your calcium hardness.

To clear your pool, use some DE = diatomaceous earth in your filter, added through a skimmer. I would try no more than 1/2 lb, but Poconos or CarlD might help here.

Use regular unscented 6% bleach from now on, and your pool should start to clear up. You should be able to get a good test kit from Walmart for about $15 for starters, and as you get more experience, you may want to get Ben's PS234 kit which is much better.

When you get your kit, post back with your pool water analysis and we can give you better advice..

Meantime keep reading the forum posts and you will get a better feel for what to do.

Hope this helps.

Pat

cjayc
05-15-2006, 09:25 PM
Oh thank you! So I use diatomaceous earth even though I use just sand? When I'm ready, would you please try to explain how to change my sand?