PDA

View Full Version : New pool owner--need some quick help to salvage last weeks of season

NJ Aqua
08-21-2011, 06:44 PM
Ok, first off....this looks like a great resource and look forward to contributing. By way of background, I just bought a new house which came with a 33,000 gallon in-ground Anthony sylvan pool with spa...and I am very new to this...it's like becoming a chemist.

To start:

I under appreciated the work necessary to maintain a beautiful pool but AM committed to it. For the past 5 weeks, I have gained an appreciation of regular maintainence, brushing, vacuuming, chemicals, backwashing, etc.

Problem--no matter how hard I try, I can't keep ph above 7.0. When I take water to get tested, alkalinity is ok but am told I have a nitrate level of 80 which is eating my ph and need to drain the pool. Is this bs? At this point, I rather just close the pool and start over next year as I live in NJ and only have a few weeks left.

Second issue--constant reoccurrence of pinkish/brown algae on walls. I use a general algaecide which seems to help and try to keep chlorine levels of 2-3. I add anthony sylvan super pool treat and algaecide as regular maintenance and shock after heavy rains.

I also notice a level of "silt" in areas of the pool and when brushing concrete walls. Thought it was DE being discharged into pool but it is not as I got new filter grids. Is it bleached algae?

Any help appreciated. I know I haven't provided enough chemistry details but tell me what to test for at store and I will do so this week and reply with details to this post.

Thank you!

PoolDoc
08-22-2011, 07:40 AM
Hi NJ;

----------- Advice below assumes a chlorine or 'salt' pool -----------------

A new pool is overwhelming at first, and unfortunately, pool stores make it worse. Let's see if we can make it easier!

#1 - Forget about nitrates and phosphates. (If they haven't mentioned phosphates, they will, sooner or later.)