PDA

View Full Version : Comparing Pool Heating Options

solar
07-19-2011, 02:12 PM
Hello, I am in the solar biz and a lot of companies like the one I work for also sell solar pool heaters. For my company, pool panels are really a tiny side-line to the main biz but I have some knowledge of this.

As a new pool owner, I want to know if solar is really the best option for free pool heating. I would never consider a paid energy pool heater. But, from researching I see that there are actually a couple other free heating options besides solar.

1. SolarAttic Pool Heater - heats a pool using heat from an attic.
2. Hotspot Pool Heater- heats a pool with heat recycled from an air conditioner

I think I pretty much know the advantages of solar as compared to heat pumps, gas etc. I am hoping somebody could tell me opinions about these other two options. And also, are there other free heating options beside solar and the two I mentioned?

J Baker

CarlD
07-19-2011, 04:43 PM
Hi J,

They are not free...Attic solar pool heating is extremely, almost insanely expensive...and if there's any mistake in the protection and a pipe ruptures, it's a mess.
I don't know much about water-cooling the condenser other than such coolers are made. Of course, if the pool gets TOO warm you cannot shut it off.

Heat pumps are surprisingly efficient. They got a bad rap in the 80's because they were being used wrong: In climates where temps got into the 20's and the heat pump switched over to resistance heating. But when it's in the 70's, 80's and 90's outside, heat pumps can be very economical--much better than gas.

Many of us have solar heat. I do and so do my fellow mod, Poconos and Watermom (not sure if aylad or PoolDoc have them--don't quite think so.)

Carl

Watermom
07-19-2011, 04:58 PM
Yep. I have solar panels, too. Works great for me! Welcome to the Pool Forum, by the way!

famousdavis
07-19-2011, 05:20 PM