PDA

View Full Version : so ... if mps is a waste of money ...

Berggy
07-07-2011, 08:21 PM
So if MPS is a waste of money.
I have only ever shocked with chlorine in the spring and fall (5 lbs) which costs $30-50 (I can't remember)
The rest of the time I drop 2pounds of MPS to drop my combined chlorine by 0.2 for $5 then drop 2 pounds of ph up to raise ph 0.2 for $4. So for less than $10 I fix my chlorine problem, can swim in 10the minutes, and don't have to worry about turning off my copper heater.
how does bbb shock work?
What are the costs?
Do I need to worry about my copper heater?
What am I missing?
Sometimes I wish I was a chemist.

aylad
07-07-2011, 09:01 PM
I can't comment on the mps, I'm sure Ben or Chem-geek will be along shortly to address that...

BBB shock is simply the addition of chlorine, (most of us use bleach), to an elevated level to kill off all the nasties, including the CC, in the pool. Bleach is $2.54 for the large size generic jug at our WalMart, and how high you need to take your chlorine depends on your CYA level (if you can see the blue links in my sig, check out the "best guess chlorine chart" for info on chlorine levels based on CYA). I use about 4 of the large jugs a week in my 29K gallon pool, so for just over $10 weekly I can keep my pool crystal clear. If you stay on top of your testing and chlorine, there's rarely a need to shock the pool. You do need to be concerned about your copper heater no matter what form of chlorine you're using--but it's not the chlorine that's the problem, it's the pH below 7.0 that will dissolve the copper into your pool water and create problems. Bleach doesn't change your pH.

waterbear
07-07-2011, 09:07 PM
I think the overlooked point here is that a properly maintained pool rarely needs shocking, be it with chlorine or MPS.