PDA

View Full Version : NEWBIE - How to make fresh water ready to swim?

bluenote
05-10-2006, 01:26 PM
Hi, I have been scanning the forums and trying to find a start to finish process of how to get a pool up and running. I'm in a situation where cost effectiveness is of the utmost importance, but that being said still want it to be safe and clean for my guests and I. In reality I was hoping to have the pool ready in two days. Is this possible, or does it take longer to equalize a pool after starting with fresh water?

Notes about pool: I'm a student so please don't laugh at this "first pool" of mine. My pool is an AG round 18' by 48". The water capacity is 20,000 litres of water (approx. 5300 gallons).

Questions:

1. How many days does it take to go from fresh water to fully ready?

2. What "generic" chemicals do I need to go out and buy? (I'm planning on using bleach)

3. What chemicals should I add right away before my first testing begins?

I think those questions will set me in the right direction for now. If I have posted in the wrong place please forgive me.

Thanks a lot for answering my questions. Hopefully one day I will have enough experience to help out others, but for now I'm in the pre-newbie category for sure!

-Bluenote

Watermom
05-10-2006, 09:01 PM
Welcome to the forum! You can possibly swim the first day your pool is full. (assuming you are filling from city water and not well water which sometimes has some different adjustments that need to be made.) If you will test your fill water, we can better see what you will need to do. Use a drops based test kit - no teststrips.