PDA

View Full Version : pump piping

sulconst2
05-10-2006, 07:01 AM
hello, f
first post, i'm a contractor from jersey who needs some pool advice. I have an approx. 18 x 40 built in pool with a 1 1/2 hp hayward super pump thats 8 years old. changing out to 2 hp haywood northstar pump. cut out the old and installed the new with 1 1/2" schedule 40 pvc (guess that was the mistake) primed and glued but doesnt hold. i'm used to running pvc for waste lines and its good in 20 seconds. question is what pipe and glue is used for this application?
thanks

MarkC
05-10-2006, 07:44 AM
Schedule 40 is what is usually used. I do believe 1.5" on a 2hp pump is a little on the small side and would have gone with 2". Is the pump inlet and outlet sized for 2". When you said it did not hold was your PVC cleaner and joint cement relatively new? I have had failures using old PVC cement in the past. I would let it sit pressure free overnight just to be on the safe side.

sulconst2
05-10-2006, 07:59 AM
thanks for the quick reply. pump is set-up for 2". existing lines are 1 1/2". used a bushing for transition. glue was new. even used the green glue for the pvc to abs spots. maybe just should let it sit longer cause its pressure? i could change whats above ground to 2" but would still have 1 1/2 under ground.

Maxout
05-10-2006, 08:06 AM
This Christy's Hot glue really works well. Still any joint under pressure (unlike waste lines) will require at least a few hours to cure. I would wait over night in this application if possible.

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f293/max511/iRedHot.gif

duraleigh
05-10-2006, 08:15 AM
Good morning,

a PVC joint, properly primed and glued, will hold pool-type pressure within 2 minutes....usually less. Something else is wrong...not the glue.

What ABS to PVC connection do you have? Thats unusual.