PDA

View Full Version : Does the 3Bs work for SPAS?

SFspa
05-08-2006, 05:54 PM
Unfortunately I do not have have enough room in my Condo for a pool:) So I put a Softub Spa on my deck.

I have a question, Does Ben's advice work on Spas as well? Or does the constant higher temperatures of a spa (104 degrees) require the use of MPS or Di-chlor instead of bleach?

Thanks

waterbear
05-09-2006, 11:35 AM
I kept a portable spa (my very first spa or pool...I was a newbie living in Fort Lauderdale then) on a modified 3B program a while back. I didn't know then what I know now so that might explain why I gave up after a few years and swtiched to bromine. At the advice of my spa dealer I chlorinated and shocked with bleach (kept 3-5 ppm CL in the spa) and shocked with a cup of bleach after every use. I knew nothing about stabilizer then and did have a hard time maintaining the chlorine levels. The dealer never said anything about it to me either. If I added the bleach in the evening I would have no chlorine to speak of the following afternoon. I also tended to leave the spa uncovered since it was 10'x10' and putting the hard cover on and off was a 2 person job. Perhaps if I had kept the cover on when it was not in use I would not have had that problem. I also understand now that the constant airation and high water temp was why my alkalinity was alway on the decline so I was constantly adding baking soda but I was using sodium carbonate for pH control instead of borax (Once again, dealer recommendation) so I was constanly fighting the pH vs. alkalinity yo-yo. (add the sodium carbonate to get ph right then Alk shoots up, Add dry acid to get it down, etc.) For some reason the pH in the spa was always decreasing (perhaps from bather load?...that is what the dealer said)