PDA

View Full Version : Power Washing an IG Pool???

wetshoes1
05-07-2006, 05:25 PM
I am opening my vinyl inground pool for the 1st time since I bought the house (6 yrs.). I called a pool co. & they told me they would drain the pool, while putting a vacuum behind the liner to keep it against the the wall. Then they would power wash the walls with algacide & water as the walls & water are really black & dirty.

Is this an accepted method, to power wash a vinyl liner? The co. told me there is a 50/50 chance of the liner holding up, & made me sign a disclosure. Are they just trying to get me to put in a new liner?

Please help.:confused:

Poconos
05-07-2006, 09:22 PM
If the liner is 6 years old I wouldn't even think about even draining it let alone pressure washing it. I have no experience in this area at all and I'd wait for more inputs from those here with more experience before letting them touch it.
Al

haze_1956
05-11-2006, 08:40 AM
Just need a little clarification.

You have owned the house for 6 years and the pool have been unused for that long?

Or this is just the first year you are opening it yourself?

wetshoes1
05-11-2006, 11:34 PM
I owned the house for 6 yrs & never opened up the pool (hard to believe!).

EricF
05-12-2006, 08:23 AM
How much is the powerwashing vs. a new liner? After six years of algae, etc. in the pool, I wonder if they are not giving you an optimistic estimate of a 50% chance of a favorable outcome. I personally would use the money for a new liner, as I think it will be very difficult to drain the pool and remove the stains without causing significant damage. I have to admit, though, I have never heard of powerwashing a vinyl liner.

EricF

haze_1956
05-12-2006, 10:06 AM
I think the first step is to check if the liner will even come clean.

Try scrubbing a section a foot or so down and see if the crud comes off.