PDA

View Full Version : Restored Gunite yesterday - checmical questions...

dcastine
05-05-2006, 03:00 PM
Newbie here - Hi!

Just had my 25 yr old gunite pool renovated this week - plastered yesterday, filled in the afternoon, brushed twice already. I had the water tested just today - they told me that I need to get to 300ppm of total Alkalinity (?!?!) - now in order to do this I need to add 94 lbs of a certain chemical in order to get there (Bioguard) - then maintain the Ph by adding Muriatic Acid 1/2 gallon at a time over the next year (again ?!?!) - also need to add scale inhibitor (this actually makes sense) - the pool was here when I bought the house so I'm new to a fresh start like this - the water is chlorinated and when they tested the Ph the water turned bright pink... does this sound right? 300ppm of total Alk?:confused:

Thanks
Dave
Wakefield, MA
davecastine@gmail.com

KurtV
05-05-2006, 03:58 PM
Newbie here - Hi!

Just had my 25 yr old gunite pool renovated this week - plastered yesterday, filled in the afternoon, brushed twice already. I had the water tested just today - they told me that I need to get to 300ppm of total Alkalinity (?!?!) - now in order to do this I need to add 94 lbs of a certain chemical in order to get there (Bioguard) - then maintain the Ph by adding Muriatic Acid 1/2 gallon at a time over the next year (again ?!?!) - also need to add scale inhibitor (this actually makes sense) - the pool was here when I bought the house so I'm new to a fresh start like this - the water is chlorinated and when they tested the Ph the water turned bright pink... does this sound right? 300ppm of total Alk?:confused:

Thanks
Dave
Wakefield, MA
davecastine@gmail.com

Dave, 300 ppm alkalinity doesn't sound right, but you should probably check the plaster manufacturer's recommendations/requirements for chemistry.