PDA

View Full Version : IDKpools's Thread

IDKpools
03-23-2011, 11:47 PM
I bought a home in November that has an in ground pool. I am new to this and I am a bit lost. I have just started the pool up for the year and I noticed a leek comming from the heater. I am going to have a tech come out to look at it but what I want to know is do NEED a pool heater? I have a spa and I would like to heat the spa but I live in TX (HOT)and I don't swim in the winter months so am I required to have a heater that can heat the pool and the spa even if I never use it to heat the pool?

CarlD
03-24-2011, 06:39 AM
I bought a home in November that has an in ground pool. I am new to this and I am a bit lost. I have just started the pool up for the year and I noticed a leek comming from the heater. I am going to have a tech come out to look at it but what I want to know is do NEED a pool heater? I have a spa and I would like to heat the spa but I live in TX (HOT)and I don't swim in the winter months so am I required to have a heater that can heat the pool and the spa even if I never use it to heat the pool?

Absolutely not! If your water is naturally warm enough to swim then the heater simply wastes money. However a spa needs to be heated, if you are going to use it. But that's two separate questions.

In your part of the world, using the pool only in warm weather, a solar cover should be enough to warm your water a bit and, more importantly, to keep it from cooling down on chilly nights and cooler days--it insulates. Personally, I've given up on the expensive covers--they last the same three years as the cheap ones and don't work much better.

As for heating the spa, well, I'll leave that to people who know about spas. But I don't believe you use the same heater for the spa as the pool (I could be wrong about that).