PDA

View Full Version : CPO - Barnyard Slush

waste
03-09-2011, 06:49 PM
Hi all! (and I truly hope Ben sees this)

As some of you may know, I'm currently a resident of Maine. I work for a "summer community" (they buy the cottages, we provide the 7 pools) and am responsible for the pools/ hot tub. As of Sept. last year, to do my job, I'm supposed to be a CPO :mad:. I've talked with the woman in charge of HHS and she ~ won't accept my 23 years of experience nor a less expensive class (American Lifeguard Ass.) as being "recognized" (even though she never had heard of the course). I'll tell y'all that I am PISSED! There are things in the "rules" that 'fly in the face' of proper sanitation and pool management which I would throw in the face of ANYONE trying to tell me differently!:mad:

I'll probably just take the course and pay 'lip service' to the instructor so as to get my certificate, but, knowing that certain parts are WRONG!!! - I want to petition the legislature to correct things!

Knowing what I do about pool chemistry v.s. their rules (thanks to being on this site :cool:)

I know Ben is a CPO instructor and I'd LOVE to hear his input on this!

chem geek
03-09-2011, 07:40 PM
If you take a CPO course than you can see if the instructor is strictly following the book or if they are giving additional or corrected information such as what I have written in the Certified Pool Operator (CPO) training -- What is not taught (http://www.troublefreepool.com/certified-pool-operator-cpo-training-what-is-not-taught-t18432.html) thread and associated detailed report of suggestions (linked to in that thread).

waste
03-09-2011, 09:04 PM
Richard, it was mostly your info, which I've read and ~ digested that makes me unhappy about the CPO course:cool:

I will use your threads/ info if I end up going before the state legislature

THANK YOU!!! for your work in correcting what the chem companies/ NSPI tell the folks who make pool rules!

PoolDoc
03-23-2011, 05:35 PM