PDA

View Full Version : Sand in pool after start up, help

catcooter
07-30-2010, 10:50 PM
I'm new to the start up process, my husband has always taken care of everything. HE did the winterizing last fall. W also just installed a new liner. (I did all the work to ready it for the liner including getting rid of rust and cement work!, and oh, I"m a girl) The liner is in almost perfect, I have a few wrinkles to deal with but that's another issue.

I noticed a few hours after turning on the filter I had a pile of sand in the bottom of the pool. At first I feared there was a hole in the new liner so I used a net and swooshed the sand around. Last time I looked the water was no longer clear but had that brown tinge to it like the sand,and most the sand was circulating. I have the filter on but have not put any chemicals in the pool yet. It is completely filled with brand new tap water since this is a new liner.

I called the local pool company and they wanted to know if we'd winterized it and it sounded like the filter was broken inside. It is a hayward filter and only opens at the top, I don't even see a drain on the bottom. I"m not sure of the size but it is a big one. It is not the newest model showing the pump attached. My pool is 16' x 32'. The Hayward pump is 3/4 hp if that helps. What should I do?

We do have a heater also. After lighting it up it is running but keeps flashing to service/clean the filter/basket. Last year we lost our cover and it was a constant fight to keep the leaves out of the pool. Does this have something to do with it?