PDA

View Full Version : Another cloudy pool

RobDHW
07-09-2010, 08:29 PM
So, my concrete pool is cloudy. Again. I think I need to add more bleach & all will be well but a little reassurance never hurts. My #'s are from the Wal-Mart / HTH 6 way drop test kit:

CL >5 (that's all the stinkin' thing goes up to - yes, I promise to get a Taylor...)
CYA 100 (a goof from before I discovered this site)
PH between 7.2 & 7.5. I'm not very good at color comparison
TA - 130
CH 300

Interestingly, my TA was 80 last week... I didn't add anything.
I dumped in 1.42 gallons of bleach this morning. Not much better, so I dumped in a pack of Cal-Hypo shoch that I had before I went the bleach route.
It seems to go cloudy pretty easily.

Thoughts?

-Rob

Watermom
07-10-2010, 12:18 AM
You can make your test kit test higher by using dilution while you are waiting to get the Taylor kit you promise to order! This is not super accurate, but better than nothing. Take a look at this thread for how to do so:

http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?p=65545#post65545

I would not use any more cal-hypo. Your CH is aleady pretty high. It could be contributing to the cloudy water problem. Also, your CYA may be much higher than 100 since that is the highest the kit will differentiate. I'd suggest doing a partial drain and refill (maybe 1/2 to 2/3 of the water) and try and get the cya level down. Depending on how hgh your cya actually is, it may take a couple of drain/refill cycles to get the cya down to a more manageable level.

If you choose not to do a drain/refill, you will have to run higher than normal chlorine levels to compensate for the high cya. (Another reason to get the Taylor kit.) Take a look at the chart at this link:

http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=365