PDA

View Full Version : Got my 234 today...and boy do I need help! (newbie alert)

gonefishin
05-02-2006, 08:27 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a complete pool newbie! I've really got no idea what to do or where to start. But I'm hoping I get things straightened out...Hopefully the kids are going to have a good summer this year :D

I've got a newly installed 21' x 54" round above ground (10,250 gallons). I've got a Hayward single speed pump and a hayward filter. The pool also came with a nature2 system, but taking the advice of this forum...I completely removed the whole system.

So far I've got the water levels up (actually too far after three days of hard rain:eek: )

I have added 1.5 gallons of laundry bleach...and that's all so far.

I've got just a little bit of green algae in the "crease" area of the wall/floor "joint".

my readings...

FC - 0.5
CC - 1.5
TC - 2.0

PH - 7.3
ALK - 290
Cal - 280
Cya - 0.0
temp - 64

What should I do know? I have one "shock" from the start-up kit that came with the pool. Should I add that? I also bought a bunch of bleach from the grocery store too.

Should I add bleach? how much? how long before adding more?

Should I add anything else?

I've vacuumed once so far (I had one of the ziplock sand bag weights, for the steps, open up. What a mess). Should I vacuum that little bit of algae up again?

Should I open up the filter and clean it out? I probably cleaned up the amount of sand equal to a large coffee can.

Obviously the water temp is a little cold to go swimming. But how often do I run the pump? Does this change once we start swimming?

I have read thru a large number of posts here...and also the FAQ pages as well. But I'm still feeling kind of lost.

Thanks for your help!

dan

PoolDoc
05-02-2006, 08:42 PM
PM me your serial number, and I'll change your status to "kit owner". I'm sending an email out that will cover what I need to enable access to the old PoolLetter pages.